Sep 02

Climate Comics Panel

This much is clear: if we want to slow the impending climate catastrophe, everyone has to roll up their sleeves. But how do you get “everyone” to become active and recognize the extent of the problem? Can our comics maybe contribute to awareness and agitation?

We’ve invited four comic artists and authors who in one way or another address topics related to our changing ecosystems in their books and stories. We aim to discuss the strengths and weaknesses of comics as a medium of communicating political content.

A casual conversation about climate, capitalism, change and xenophobia.

Stephanie McMillan writes, draws, and makes art in various media to encourage global working class-led revolution to emancipate humanity from colonialism-capitalism-imperialism, to make possible a thriving planet. 

Madeleine Jubilee Saito (Sigh-Toe) is an artist and designer from northern Illinois living in the Pacific Northwestern United States. She makes experimental, contemplative poetry comics about the material world and the sacred.

Hanna Poddig was born in 1985 in Hamburg. She is often described as a “full-time activist”. Not least because of the inflationary use of the term “activist”, she prefers to see herself as an anarchist who is irreconcilable with the system. She was active for several years with Robin Wood and is also involved in today’s climate movements. Besides fighting for the climate, she has also been committed to the anti-nuclear movement for 15 years and is also active in the area of antimilitarism. She is the author of the illustrated book “Kleine Geschichte der Umweltbewegung (Short history of the environmental movement)” published by UNRAST.    

Leise Hook is an Asian American cartoonist and illustrator. Her work has appeared in The Believer and The New Yorker, and has been shortlisted for the National Magazine Awards and Cartoonist Studio Prize. She is currently working on a graphic memoir about biracial identity, cultural history, and language.

Language: Englisch

Thursday, 09/02 8:00 pm

02. Sep

Climate Comics Panel

So viel ist klar: Wenn wir die sich anbahnende Klimakatastrophe noch bremsen wollen, müssen wir alle mit anpacken. Doch wie kann man “alle” dazu bewegen aktiv zu werden und das Ausmaß des Problems anzuerkennen? Können wir mit unseren Comics vielleicht zur Aufklärung und Agitation beitragen?

Wir haben vier Comic-Künstler*innen und Comic-Autor*innen eingeladen, die sich in ihren Büchern und Geschichten auf die ein oder andere Weise mit Themen unserer sich verändernden Ökosystemen auseinandersetzen und wollen uns austauschen über die Stärken und Schwächen von Comics als Medium zur Vermittlung politischer Inhalte.

Ein lockeres Gespräch über Klima, Kapitalismus, Veränderung und Xenophobie.

Stephanie McMillan schreibt, zeichnet und macht Kunst in verschiedenen Medien, um eine globale, von der Arbeiterklasse geführte Revolution zu fördern, die die Menschheit vom Kolonialismus-Kapitalismus-Imperialismus emanzipiert, um einen blühenden Planeten zu ermöglichen.

Madeleine Jubilee Saito (Sigh-Toe) ist eine Künstlerin und Designerin aus dem Norden von Illinois, die im pazifischen Nordwesten der Vereinigten Staaten lebt. Sie macht experimentelle, kontemplative Poesie-Comics über die materielle Welt und die spirituelle.

Hanna Poddig wurde 1985 in Hamburg geboren. Oft wird sie als »Vollzeitaktivistin« bezeichnet. Sie selbst sieht sich, nicht zuletzt aufgrund der inflationären Nutzung des Begriffs der Aktivistin, lieber als mit dem System unversöhnliche Anarchistin. Sie war viele Jahre bei Robin Wood aktiv und ist auch heute in den aktuellen Klimabewegungen engagiert. Neben Klimakämpfen engagiert sie sich seit 15 Jahren in der Anti-Atom-Bewegung und ist auch im Bereich Antimilitarismus aktiv. Sie ist Autorin des bei UNRAST erschienenen illustrierten Buches “Kleine Geschichte der Umweltbewegung”.

Leise Hook ist eine asiatisch-amerikanische Cartoonistin und Illustratorin. Ihre Arbeiten sind in The Believer und The New Yorker erschienen und wurden für die National Magazine Awards und den Cartoonist Studio Prize nominiert. Zurzeit arbeitet sie an einem grafischen Memoirenbuch über multiethnische Identität, Kulturgeschichte und Sprache.

Sprache: Englisch

Donnerstag, 02.09.2021 20:00 Uhr